Litigious Humans and Photogenic Monkeys: Slater v. Wikimedia Copyright Ownership Dispute Over Monkey Selfies

From the above clip of British wildlife photographer David J Slater, it is clear that Slater is strongly considering taking legal action against Wikimedia for copyright infringement in the now infamous “monkey selfie” photographs.

In the clip, Slater explains how the photographs came about by saying:

After a three day exploration of a forest in North Sulawesi, Indonesia, the monkeys followed me around, I followed them around, they got too used to me, eventually they started grooming me, touching me – it was an amazing experience. I still wanted that one shot, that one shot full in the face, just for my self satisfaction and to give it to an agent and therefore I could promote the conservation issue. But it wasnt going to happen not unless they took the photograph themselves. And I did that by setting it up on a tripod with a cable release, walking a few metres away, allow them to come in watch their own reflections, play with the camera, play with the cable release and bingo, they took their own shot.

Read the full article here.

Macaque-Selfie-2

Leave a comment